Modded SCT2000/Nady TCM-1050/GT-2B Frequency Question

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maliq

Hi Folks,
this group seems to always be my last hope shoortly before i loose my minds when it comes to modding and microphones.

I'm still no expert when it comes to electronics and modding but i think i researched alot those last years and builded some gear like different EQ's, preamps, mic upgrading (as far as i could) and other stuff like 2 x Sound Skulptor Mp 5.66 Tube pres  which are my go to preamps in the studio.

Back to my problem. My "Baby" as i call my favorite microphone is a modded sct 2000/Nady TCM-1050/GT-2B. I only use it for vocal recordings, female and mostyl rap/singing type vocals.

C9 / C10 / C6 Removed, capsule changed to a Maiku K47 and changed the OT to a Advanced Audio BV08 Dual Bobbing.
Tube is a Goldpin EH 6072a Tube.

C8 to a 400V 1uF and one time also with a 2uF 250V Cap

Change Z5 and Z6 (D5 & D6) in the power supply from 72v Zeners to 62v zener diodes.

I put it up against a Neumann TLM-103, and against the Slate VMS, i kept my "Baby" and returned the Neumann and Slate.
My "Mic" sounds warmer and smoother, and not so "bassy" then the TLM103. I've used my Motu M4 Audio Preamps to test it in a blind shoutout and of course my Mp566 tube preamp which i always used to record Vocals in the Studio.

I might be spoiled by this mic but what bothers me alot is the "Esses" and "Shhsss". I need to use one deesser first to reduce Frequencys around 6,1Khz (very sharp "ess") around 6dB. Then after adding my mix chain, which is basically a neve and pultec vst plus some compression (not much) i need to do some manual deessing again (about 6db again) a deesser would make the vocal to "dull" at this point. The sharp frequencys range from 3.8khz up to 6,3khz