Monacor Echopac ME350

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dirtyhanfri

Hi

I'm troubleshooting a Monacor Echopac ME350 tape delay unit. The problem was described as no signal in the echo path. I have no experience with tape devices. The unit uses a small tape, similar to the classic cassette tape in different format, but tape width and head looks the same as those used in old cassette players.

There are two heads, eraser / writer (it has two wires coming from PCB), and the read one (one wire going to the PCB). I have no signal in the wire going to the heads. I tried unsoldering what looks to be the signal wire in the erase / write head and it has a copy of the input signal on it but it gets lost when I solder it to the head. On the other hand, I tried also to unsolder the wire going to the reading head and inject signal on it, then I have "wet" signal in the unit output.

I guess it's time to replace the tape heads, right? The thing is I have no idea about models and references when it comes to tape heads, but in eBay I find a lot of similar items, it's just some kind of 'standard' and I can get any pair? or is something critical I should check before ordering?

Thanks in advance.

Attached is the picture of the heads, the upper one looks to be the recording one (note there's one missing wire, I unsoldered it to trace signal).

1625135328419.jpg

Hi, a basic info for your device or similar models. I am not sure if this applies here but my experience with such cartridge based devices is the following.

If the effect signal is very weak or not present at all, it can often be due to the cartridge. The tape is pressed against the tape head by a foam. Over time, the foam dissolves and as a result, the distance between the tape and the head is too large, making the signal very weak.