My First Audio PCB Layout - An OPA Alice with Hex inverter

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pariah Zero

GDIY Supporter
I've never done PCB layouts for audio before, so I'm not really sure if I'm following best practices, but, I figured I'd give it a try.

I started with the OPA Alice design, and the accompanying Hex DC-DC Inverter - so I'm reasonably sure the circuits are OK.

The dimensions are largely to fit the mic bodies I have (roughly 30mm x 60 or 80 mm) -- and to put them all in one PCB.

I'm wondering if anybody has any warnings on obvious mistakes I've made. I realize it's entirely SMD; it's a totally different process, but it's still pretty DIY friendly. (I find desoldering a lot easier). I intentionally chose big SMD parts in this design with the intention to share this (as an open hardware design - after I've tested the prototype and know it works) and hopefully get some people to try a DIY SMD project.

Anyway, here's a quick picture of may layout: Red is the front/Audio signal layer, blue is the back/Hex DC/DC inverter to polarize the mic capsule. I'm trying to have the main audio lines follow as straight (and protected) a path as possible, with the idea that'll give the least noise. (I'm probably wrong somehow, but it seems reasonable to me at this point.)

Edit: Adding link to schematic:

Attachments

• 1660114412490.png
    1660114412490.png
    191.9 KB · Views: 2
  • 1660114438410.png
    1660114438410.png
    162.8 KB · Views: 2
  • 1660114713858.png
    1660114713858.png
    535.2 KB · Views: 2
  • 1660114745156.png
    1660114745156.png
    270.3 KB · Views: 3
Last edited: