My rendition of the EQP program equalizer

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

audioteslallc

I would like to thank GroupDIY forum for allowing me to share my rendition of the Pultec style EQP program equalizer. Although the project is not yet 100% complete, I thought I'd share what I have accomplished so far. Being an "Audio Apprentice", if you will, I'm always looking for something cool to build. The famous Pultec EQP-1A was no exception. I studied the filter section and thought "this LCR stuff is really, really cool" and, of course, worthy of further experimentation. I did not have the usual tube-type input and output transformers available but I did have a couple of SpectraSonic 101 cards (I think they're the early ones because they require only a single supply) and a pair of Triad A-67J input and Triad HS-66 transformers dated 1969 handy. My friend and brother from another mother Billy pointed out hat the purpose of the vacuum tube circuit was simply nothing more than "the recovery amp", or "make-up gain stage" required to bring the signal back to it's input level caused by circuit insertion losses, etc. So why not try using the SpectraSonics cards instead of tubes?. Apparently they are quite robust and are capable of driving a 600 ohm output transformer without difficulty. So I did.

To my astonishment the filter section and the make up gain stage work very well together. At the time, I had no idea how the original early Pultec units were assembled, so I tried my hand at some point to point wiring using a turret style board for the capacitors and a home made multi-tapped inductor of my own design for the inductor stage. I built two each ending up with better than 5% tolerance between them. I also wanted the feel of NOS rotary switches, potentiometers and switches.....no modern flimsy cheap trash, only the real deal.