Need Help with buying equipment

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoNada

hi I am a total newbie here,
I want to get into diy recording equipment like starting with cables and then going into preamps eqs comps ect.
I need to make a list of electronics equipment i need. I already have a digital 60w soldering station, but no equipment to measure like a multimeter and osciloscope. I would be thankful if someone could tell me what i need to test my boards after soldering and to find mistakes/troubleshoot.

thank you
jonas

thank you for the overview, do you think I need an logic analyzer, or osciloscope and multimeter are enough?
cause i found this

OWON HDS272S​

which is osciloscope multimeter and signal generator. It seems good and affordable.
best
Jonas

thank you for the overview, do you think I need an logic analyzer, or osciloscope and multimeter are enough?
cause i found this

which is osciloscope multimeter and signal generator. It seems good and affordable.
best
Jonas
O-scopes are necessary, especially in gear repair.
the beauty in scopes, is you can get them used usually for very little money.
hey pucho
problem is i dunno what to look for
so i found that owon that can do all functions, its around 200 $ but new. So if someone could tell if the

OWON HDS272S​

is a good one that can do all i need would be already nice then i don t need to look any further.
thank u

I prefer analog scopes. they are easier to see. you can find a good tektronics in working order for inexpensive. just search ebay.

as to what to look for? my current scope is a duel channel and does up to 100 MHz, the 100MHz is way over kill as my audio stuff is nowhere in the 100MHZ range, let alone the MHZ range, but I got the scope on the inexpensive and it does well.