New-ish electret capsule

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm about to try this capsule in a Fame CM2 mic, but I have no experience with electret capsules yet. Diaphragm goes to ground, but how do I connect the permanently polarized backplate to the gate of the fet? Since in this Schoeps circuit there are a low voltage applied to the fet gate, should I place a cap between them?

Edit: connected without a cap and seems to work :) BTW it sound super nice!

Thanks!
The stock microphone has a rather high noise, 24dB A, with the original capsule. The new electret capsule I suspect provides a lower signal than the stock one. How is the noise, has the S/N ratio gotten worse?

Attachments

• Screenshot_2024-02-23-14-35-46-340_com.android.chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_2024-02-23-14-35-46-340_com.android.chrome.jpg
    538.8 KB · Views: 2
  • 70090-67064f4c6f29861be2090006c00362b4.jpeg
    70090-67064f4c6f29861be2090006c00362b4.jpeg
    576.2 KB · Views: 0
Indeed I had some noise with the original circuit but I couldn't find where it came from, tried some filtering after the zener and so... so I removed the pcb and installed a diy KM84 circuit with u87ish deemphasis.

Attachments

• 20231217_225339.jpg
    20231217_225339.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
Indeed I had some noise with the original circuit but I couldn't find where it came from, tried some filtering after the zener and so... so I removed the pcb and installed a diy KM84 circuit with u87ish deemphasis.
So the circuit is not linear now and the electret capsule benefits from u87ish deemphasis? This accentuates the mids a bit, makes them stand out in the mix. Does the transformer have a 7:1 ratio?