New markets

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lagoausente

First of all, just tell that I think the Drawing board is a good section to this thread, even is not theory, has much relation with the fact that today, many free guys can be learning and teaching the inside secrets of the gear, and that has to do with the money, buisness etc.

I just wanted to start a reflection about why we are here.
As a newbie I started a thread, about if is afordable to DIY or not. The conclusion is that many times if you save money, it doesn´t worth itself for the time you have to spent on the project. So, many of the guys that end DIY , are for passion, and to get knowlegde.
I think there is another issue. The truth, and the lie. At least me, I´m tired of being deceived when buying devices. Marketing, prestige of firms often make people buy things without knowing the truth inside. And often, to know what is inside is imposible, unless you buy it, and open it.
In the other hand, we have now a new market. DIY kits, more or less assembled, for afordable prices. Afordable prices often have to do , at my opinion, with ausence of costs of marketing advertisements, distribuitors, stores... etc etc.
But that´s not tha main issue I want to remark. The main issue I think is the information, and sincerity. Before buying a kit, we have access to schematics, and know what components we´ll get, and even can select what op-amps or transformers we prefer.
This for me, makes a quite big diference of type of markets. Comercial seems to prefer a blind buyer, since DIY market seems lo like people who likes knowledge.