New to the world of Microphones and could do with some nudges in the right direction.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carboncomp

Hello.

I'm new to mics, but have some basic knowledge of analogue electronics through DIY guitar and amp projects.

Would love to dip my toe into making a vocal mic, and would love some advice on what circuits to look at. I don't really want to go down the kit path as I have many components and can whip up a PCB board to fit a donor housing no problem.

So, what should I be considering for a first project, for a phantom powered vocal condenser mic?

I have seen the term 'Alice mic' thrown around in a few places and on youtube, good starter, or with looking at something else?

Thank you for taking the time to read.

So, what should I be considering for a first project, for a phantom powered vocal condenser mic?

You should do an U87 project, there's pcbs for it, bodies and all parts are available, a lot resources for it and you can get help over here
In the end you will have a top quality vocal mic and not just a DIY gizmo.

check these pages, everything you need is over there:

http://www.vintagemicrophonepcbkit.com/DU87.html
https://groupdiy.com/threads/neumann-vintage-u87-clone-build-thread.48030/
https://groupdiy.com/threads/vintag...-pcb-kit-for-diy-new-d7-custom-capsule.49675/
https://groupdiy.com/threads/syt-5-microphone-bodies-b-stock.79952/
https://groupdiy.com/threads/unmark...parts-syt-5-cu-49-ht-11a-gt-2b-and-u47.50015/

I have seen the term 'Alice mic' thrown around in a few places and on youtube, good starter, or with looking at something else?

I remember a long time ago the "Alice mic" it being a popular project in mic builders yahoo group, not at all over here. If I remember correctly it used an inexpensive Electret capsule, so not even true condenser.