Newly purchased UTC A-48 Hybrid Transformer- It it busted? [DCR measurements listed]

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi All,

I wasn't sure if I should post this here or in Magnetics forums; The Lab seemed to be about troubleshooting so here I am :)

I recently picked up a UTC A-48 Hybrid Transformer and I think it is faulty based on DC resistance measurements and trying to pass audio through it.

But since hybrid Xformers are a bit atypical and I'm fairly new to the DIY space I am hoping that you all might be able to give feedback; I don't want to contact the seller and indicate it's busted until I've exhausted all potential checks.

I tried to check historical posts here but unfortunately all the images are no longer working so I can't assess expected results. For example: UTC A-48 Hybrid Transformer

In a nutshell, there is a continuity with low ohm resistance (~0.1 Ohm) between windings that I do not think should have continuity based on the schematic present on the Xformer case. Please see below:

For reference here is a schematic of a Hybrid Transformer all set up for action (from wiki):

tiAuNWK.jpg

Here is the UTC A-48 schematic which indicates that all of the windings should be separated and non-conductive (the windings are within the dashed line box but the inter/intrawinding connections are outside the dashed line box):

K20QSMi.jpg

Here are my DC resistance measurements along with a more cogent schematic. To cut to the chase see the "Expected" column. It is the 5-7 connection that is baffling, and the connections associated with it. In particular the 5-8 winding connections do not respond as the 9-12 windings connections do, and the latter respond exactly as expected from the schematic.

Any pair of connections for which a resistance is not explicitly listed in the table below showed no continuity (open lead).

bpqeQ4z.jpg