Noobie builds FiveFish Psu

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fragletrollet

GDIY Supporter
Hey there!

I recently joined this super forum, and was blown away by the available DIY kits available, and the level of support and care shown by the people here. After building my CAPI312`s and DOA`s, I felt ready to start a new project. I quickly settled on the EZ1084 pcb`s from Bluzzi, as they were presumably pretty easy to put togheter. Anyways, the EQ `s use external power, so a separate power-supply was needed. I was recommended the FiveFish PSU, and I got a PSU-enclosure from CollectiveCases.

As a total electronics newb, I was at first a little intimidated about working with deadly levels of voltage, and was actually a little remorseful about my PSU purchase; maybe I should have left it to the pro`s and focused solely on my eq`s? Well... if you never decide to learn something, you never will. So I started reading up a bit on basic electric knowledge: AC/DC, grounding, shock hazards and how to avoid them.

The FiveFish PSU assembly guide is pretty thorough, but I had to get answers for a few things I was wondering from the FF guys, and they were very helpful. Anyways, I was thinking to just make a little build thread so other people can have a look at what`s involved (this will be far under most of you people competance, but there probably are a few scared noobs among you, like me, that appreciate all the info they can get)

Resistors and diodes soldered to board.

And ceramic caps and bridge rectifiers...