Old Electro's really suck!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Jones

Fixed an old Acetone organ (nobody laugh) today, a real Japanese miracle from the 70's, and the electrolytics were so old on the generator boards that they were TRIPLE their marked values - as an example, the 50 microFarad caps were all 140-180 mF. No wonder the thing sounded like it had asthma, and had been eating too many prunes.

I know the many of the design guru's in the Lab are all wary of outright replacing electro's even in 20-30 year old gear, but as a synth tech I hate the bloody things and just get rid of them wherever I see them, they really suck in oscillators and filters. How's that for a vent? (Pardon the pun).

Frakos

Frakos

Freakin' Frakos!!!!

I've had more trouble with those pesky yellow critters than any other capacitor. Worst offender- Studer A80 VU 24-track recap. Surely a mind bending experience at the best of times. Transformerless output cards tightened up remarkably afterwards though!!

:thumb:

Mark

Fixed an old Acetone organ (nobody laugh) today, a real Japanese miracle from the 70's

Nobody laughing here, we like cheese (assuming it's doing that).

BTW, you knew this one ?

http://www.hollowsun.com/vintage/rhythmace/index.html

Lots of samples there, all kinds of beatboxes and synths & organs.

[quote author="Mark Burnley"]Freakin' Frakos!!!![/quote]
You always got Frakos when you bought kits in Denmark in the late 80s. I also got Frakos when I bought caps at the local electronics shop - it looks like they had the Danish market cornered :wink:

My Frakos are still fine though - perhaps they are not old enough yet...

Best regards,

Mikkel C. Simonsen

Well,

I think a mixture of heat, age and being left on 24/7 didn't help in the cases I'd seen!

90% fail by short, which isn't nice. At least they didn't burst!!

:shock:

Mark