One SPDT Switch to Drive Relay and Lamp?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phrazemaster

Hi, I'm adding an illuminated switch to a green pre, and I was going to use a dpdt switch to drive a relay and an incandescent lamp: one pole of the switch for the lamp, one for the relay. Easy, right?

So I ran across another post somewhere where the person said, why not drive the lamp and relay with the same circuit; if you can drive the relay coil then you also drive the lamp too.

That means I could just use a SPST switch (saving money) and also simplify the design (2 perks!).

So, is this wise? If doable, then would I wire the lamp and Relay in series or parallel, and do I need to worry about coil kickback damaging the lamp?

I'm sure this is tepidly basic electronics, but you know what? I'm a total newbie. Not sure how to proceed.

I was thinking then I should get a 5v incandescent lamp and a 5v relay (makes sense, right?) to drive them both at the same time. I'm assuming I would need to put a diode across the relay contacts, but again how would this interface with the lamp? Anyone willing to give advice/draw a small schematic?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Mike

parallel will be fine
series would probably require a resistor in parallel w// relay coil, plus if lamp burns open all is lost.
mind voltage ratings of lamp and relay --maybe try 12v incandescent, won't be as bright at 5v but less current

Why do you insist on incandescent? They have limited life expectancy and are a pita to replace.
LED's are almost eternal and draw much less current. With 5 volt you would need a 470R in series.
Having a bulb in parallels with the relay solves the problem of absorbing coil kickback. With an LED, not so; I would recomment a reverse diode (1N400x) across the coil.