portable mixer with 4 THAT 1510 mic preamps

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BertH

Hi all,

somewhat my first post/thread here, longtime lurker :)

I am planning a pretty ambitious project (for me, anyhow):

I am a film school student, studying sound engineer. I do alot of student films, where there was no real budget for sound equipment, or the sound equipment provided was not ideal for on the spot mixing. Things like a zoom H4n or tascam equivalent are very common. And as a recorder function, they are good for what they are (except the mic preamps, noisy as hell on those zooms). But for on set modulation, the are not handy at all. For quality reasons, and when I am not alone on a set, I also use my focusrite interface to record straight to my laptop. Again, modulation is hard. Pretty much setting at a safe volume, and letting it stand there, and make adjustments between takes.

therefore I was thinking of this:

a portable field mixer. 4 microphone preamps (switchable between mic & line inputs), led VU or PPM meters, for each input. A headphone monitoring system for listening to the inputs, if possible with various listening modes ("stereo" mix, mono (mix), or listening to one input individually (i think this might be the hardest part, and if possible can be limited to fewer options), and a "return" channel, to listen to the recorder return (this is easy).

the mic preamps should include a -20db pad, phase inverter and a low cut filter per preamp, each channel should be able to receiver phantom power.

Also, a gain trimmer should also be useful. (with professional set mixers, there is a gain pot, and a extra gain/trim control after the gain control to make the actual mix. Giving more gain and reducing volume (like the fader on a mixing desk)