Power issue still killing me. Please keep it simple stupid.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skiroy

I have been suspecting and paranoid of power problems ruining my equipment. I know there is nothing that would protect my stuff from a lightning strike. So no matter what  that is a risk correct?

Okay as far as all my stuff being on when there is a storm and the power cuts on and off this is not good for electronics and the only solution to this is a battery backup system thats would keep power going to my stuff in this event,but I would turn my stuff off in any kind of storm but of course this could happen un suspected too. But the real thing that I am concerned with is voltage fluctuations as fasr as spikes/surges and sags.

So please just simple answers here for the following questions because I am not an electrician. And by the way the main reason why I am asking these questions YET AGAIN is because we recently had a storm. I ALWAYS unplug everything everytime I hear thunder which is a huge pain in my a$$ being in Florida. Well this one time I didnt and everything was turned off. And I have surge protect on my houses main power in from the power company. I have surge protection power strips which then go to furman power conditioners. I though I was safe. My Mother in Law in formed me the power shut on and off 2 times which isnt uncommon around here.

To make a long story short. I went to use my Mini Moog Voyager and it is screwed. I have had other things screwy go on with equipment which I cant prove it was power related but this is proof.  And I am completely fed up with this question. If it was a spike or surge related problem something should have tripped some freaking where.

So here are the questions.

1. In the event that all my stuff is turned off and I get a spike or surge will this deffinately protect it?