Problems with Studer remote

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seek

Hello. I've been reading this forum for a long time, but this is my first post. I'm in the process of receiving parts for a couple of projects, but in the meantime my tape machine isn't completely working.

I moved my A827 to a new building by truck. Before I moved it, everything was working fine. Last night I tried to use it, and everything worked except for the remote. It won't power up.

I'm relatively new to this equipment, so there might be something really obvious that I'm missing. The cable seems to be intact. The cable is zip tied to the remote so I don't think anything would have happened on that end--the connectors are in tight.

The connectors on the tape machine end seem to be okay. I took them apart; the tape machine connector is jammed with wire, I don't think anything would have come loose in there. The autolocator timer connector feels loose on the outside since the outer cable jacket ends a little early, leaving the individual wires to be clamped down. However, on the inside everything seemed fine. Exception: the wire from pin 1 doesn't have a jacket as it enters the outer cable jacket, and there are a few strands broken. This pin is labeled shield in my manual.

Edit: more data (more details provided in a subsequent post). I had the machine plugged in with several other pieces of gear and the power switch light was flickering. I then tried plugging in the machine on its own, and the light stayed on solid. If this flickering meant that the machine wasn't getting enough power, could that have caused a problem with the remote?