Pultec Solid State design questions WE 111C?...Noobie here, please be gentle.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djayvigil

Hi guys & gals,

Preface:
As the subject title suggests, I am a total noobie to the diy world and much of electronics (in practice).  Learned some theory as I was Electrical Engineering in college for a few years so I'm not a total dummy.  However, that was 10 years ago ;-D  So, please forgive my naive questions.  I have strategically chosen projects that are easy with many parts pre-built which cuts down on the assembly, risk and skill required... Hopefully.  Treat me like a 5 year old because that's pretty much my proficiency level, apologies.

Now to my questions

I've purchased filters/inductors which are pre-built (just need to be wired up) and even pre built gar 2520 op-amps for this Pultec Solid State.  My first question centers around the choice for transformers.  I realize that this has been exhaustively covered in many threads BUT I haven't seen anyone using or even proposing using what I am considering.  The guy who built the filter/inductors had alluded to the possibility in his pdf file.  I have NOS Western Electric 111c's and the originally used Triad HS-56V's.  With the 111c's being 600-600 line transformers...it seems I may have gain loss trying to include these.  I've read so many good things about these transformers & think they sound as though they could be tasty.  Just want to get all possible challenges of this, best approach & specific suggestions on how to alleviate any mismatch here or if it's even worthwhile.  Also, these Pultec's have a high possibility of preceding/succeeding newer gear wanting to "see" different impedance.  I've read resistors can help.  Also, what will be the best way to wire the terminals if it will work etc...