Questions about Bo Hansen's DI

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julio

Hello Everybody,

I've got questions about Bo Hansen's DI, which, by the way I find very good. I'd like to build a couple of them but I expect some problems.

I've tested two of them, made by a friend, with my electronic piano but when the volume was set a little too much, the sound was quite distorted. I know that the solution could be to feed the DIs with less level but as I want to use the DIs before my mixing desk which works with line levels, I don't want to loose too much level. Does a solution exist?

As my mixing desk couldn't feed phantom power through the line inputs, is it possible to modify the DI with a 9V battery?

May be my questions seems to be ridiculous for some of them but I'm a newbie in DIY. So thanks a lot for your help and your patience.

Julio,

The amp in this DI-box is a dual emitter follower and have no gain, so it will take a lot of input level before clipping, and even with a electric piano or synth with maximum output level, it is hard to overload this DI-box.

Maximum input capacity before clipping are +19dB (7,5 volt RMS), and gives +4 db (1,2 volt RMS) on the output, connected to a normal transformer or active balansed mike input. (around 1 kohm impedance/load)
And this is a lot of headroom to drive a mike input on a preamp or console.

But a electronic piano that have near line level output, connected thru the DI-box, can overload your console microphone pre-amp, evan that the DI-box have a approx. 15 dB step down transformer on the output.
(if you have a pad on your console, try if this work better)

Of course, first of all, you must check if the DI-boxes have a correct function in the amp circuit.

The demad for following test, is that the console Phantom powering can deliver +48 volt in 3,5 mA.