Ramsa WR133 - HELP - bad channel

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

berge92

most recent aquisition for my studio - funky little ramsa wr133. got it for a steal and i'm very happy with it. just using it to sum stems and it does exactly what i wanted - adds some nice analog breakup on the preamps and mix buss.

channels 1-7 all seem to be working correctly. as you step through the different preamp gain settings, they all react similarly. channel 8 however, that bad boy is the subject of our story here. at the 0dB and +10dB settings, it doesn't pass any audio. once you step up to -20dB and above it passes audio, but line level signals through a mic pre at the -20dB setting get pretty narsty. this is sometimes cool (synth bass anyone?), but i'd rather have the option to choose a lower gain settting to match channels 1-7.

i'm a total newb when it comes to ripping apart circuit boards and finding the source of an issue, but i've jumped in on this thing. the board itself breaks down fairly easily and i was able to pull a couple channel cards out to check them out. i'm handy enough with a soldering iron and was able to mess around a bit. a techy friend suspected a faulty op amp may have been the culprit, so i pulled the op amps, socketed the slots, and popped in some new ones - same result. i've put the orginal op amps back in just for consistency's sake.