RCA PA-138 Noise Reduction Amplifier as Microphone Preamp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeRoyLimited

Hello All - long, long time lurker, but a new member and first time poster. I have successfully built an La2a and recapped/reduced noise on some vintage gear with the help of everyone here, so thank you, especially EMRR. It is a testament to the forum that I have spent a decade reading posts and have never had to ask a question due to the volumes of information already covered. That being said, I am still an amateur, so here we are:

A few years ago an old RCA Photophone noise reduction amplifier walked into my life, and though I don't have a use for an NRA in my little project studio, I kept it because pieces of this vintage, rarity, and high quality manufacture don't come around very often. So, it got put on the shelf in the corner as a display piece.

I knew the schematic was in Tremaine's, but only after looking at it for the hundreth time did it pop into my head that I might be able to easily repurpose this into a mic-preamp if the transformer after the 6V6 cathode follower was suitable. I tested DCR on the secondary, came up at 79, so I knew I was in the ballpark. Spent the morning tracing wires to the Cannon multi-pin, labeled and disconnected the leads from the output/interstage transformer, hooked up power and XLRs, and finally brought her up slow on a variac: She worked, sounded good and was dead quiet.