Repairing a Rode NT1

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

letterbeacon

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
642
Location
London, UK
I've been given a broken Rode NT1 microphone (I haven't had a chance to plug it in yet so I don't know what's wrong with it) and I want to try and fix it.  Has anyone got the schematic at all?  I couldn't find any Googling or using the search on this forum.

Thanks a lot!
 

Gus

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
5,067
Location
n
Older NT1 look for the MXL2001 V67 etc circuit.

It is an easy circuit to trace and repair.
 

letterbeacon

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
642
Location
London, UK
Great thanks for that!  Unfortunately I can't seem to find schematics for that mic either!  I don't suppose you have a link at all?  Sorry, I'm not usually this rubbish at finding stuff!

Is the NT1 and the MXL2001 that similar that I can repair an NT1 using a MXL schemo?
 

Gus

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
5,067
Location
n
IIRC the older grey one had a Jfet and  PNP and an output transformer?

Flatpicker drew a nice schematic of the 2001 IIRC.
 

zebra50

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
2,940
Location
York, UK
Here you go...

it's a bit big, i'm afraid
mxl2001.jpg


 

letterbeacon

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
642
Location
London, UK
That's brilliant - thank you very much!

How come I able to use this schematic despite it being for a different mic?  Are they the same circuits or just closely related?
 

Gus

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
5,067
Location
n
Open up the NT1 and post some pictures or describe what you see.  Do you see a 170 and a PNP transistor on the PCB?
 

letterbeacon

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
642
Location
London, UK
Here are some pictures of the mic opened up.  The transistor marked Q4 near the bottom of the mic is a C2547 but I can't find any info on it - is that the PNP?
 

Attachments

  • DSC_0688.jpg
    DSC_0688.jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 91

mad.ax

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
722
Location
france
letterbeacon said:
The transistor marked Q4 near the bottom of the mic is a C2547 but I can't find any info on it - is that the PNP?

Most likely a 2SC2547...
Which is a NPN...

Axel
 

Gus

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
5,067
Location
n
Look for the china microphone schematic based off the Schoeps schematic.  Q4 is most likely in the DC to DC converter section.

The other two T092s should be PNPs more in the middle and the top should be the Jfet.

Power it up with phantom and measure the pins of the transistors that will give you a possible clue what is wrong
 

Rossi

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
1,529
Location
Germany
First of all, power it up with the complete mic body and see if it *really* doesn't work. Quite a number of mics given to me as defective were in fact fine. If it doesen't work, try to find out what exactly it is that doesn't work.

Always check for bad connections and ripped off leads first. In particular, check the XLR connector leads.

As Gus said, this circuit is based on the Schoeps circuit so forget the schematic posted above and look for the Schoeps schematic and/or the MXL 603 schematic (which is a simplified version of the Schoeps circuit).

The JFET (Q1) near the capsule works as a phase splitter. Q2 and Q3 are emitter followers for each leg of the phase splitter.

Q4 is part of the voltage converter circuit, which isn't part of the audio circuit, really, but produces a around 60V for capsule polarization. This DC-DC-Converter has very low current capabilities, so you probably won't read 60V on your meter, as your meter will load it down somewhat.
 

letterbeacon

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
642
Location
London, UK
Brilliant, thanks very much for the replies guys!

I'm completely snowed under at work so I haven't had a chance to plug it in yet, but I will do hopefully tonight.

Embarrassingly I can't find the Schoeps schematic anywhere either!  Is there a schematic archive anywhere that I should be consulting?  I've tried Google, the search function on this forum and on other forums to no avail!
 

moamps

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
2,291
Location
Croatia, HR
letterbeacon said:
.... I can't find the Schoeps schematic anywhere either!  Is there a schematic archive anywhere that I should be consulting?

Hi,
did you check zebra50's site?
Regards,
Milan
 

zebra50

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
2,940
Location
York, UK
Loads of stuff here on our website, just dig around. We're always adding more as stuff comes in.

http://www.xaudia.co.uk/

http://www.xaudia.com/xaudia/Schematics/Schematics.html


Also

http://www.gyraf.dk/schematics/schematics.html

and loads of stuff here...

http://www.sdiy.org/oid/mics.html
 

letterbeacon

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
642
Location
London, UK
Wow, loads of great stuff on that site - thanks Zebra!

I finally got a chance to plug it in and... it seems to work just fine!

Thanks everyone for posting!
 

WolfHamburgGermany

New member
Joined
Jan 23, 2023
Messages
1
Location
Hamburg
First of all, power it up with the complete mic body and see if it *really* doesn't work. Quite a number of mics given to me as defective were in fact fine. If it doesen't work, try to find out what exactly it is that doesn't work.

Always check for bad connections and ripped off leads first. In particular, check the XLR connector leads.

As Gus said, this circuit is based on the Schoeps circuit so forget the schematic posted above and look for the Schoeps schematic and/or the MXL 603 schematic (which is a simplified version of the Schoeps circuit).

The JFET (Q1) near the capsule works as a phase splitter. Q2 and Q3 are emitter followers for each leg of the phase splitter.

Q4 is part of the voltage converter circuit, which isn't part of the audio circuit, really, but produces a around 60V for capsule polarization. This DC-DC-Converter has very low current capabilities, so you probably won't read 60V on your meter, as your meter will load it down somewhat.
Thank you, I changed the XLR Cable and my NT 1 is working again. It really was the Cable. Before changing it always run for a few seconds. Mysterious. Regard from Hamburg Germany
 
Top