Restauration of rare WSW gemanium Mic preamp from 1964

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roginator

Whell I had luck to find a rare mixing desk from Austrian company WSW.
In the desk there were a lot modules looking like army comunication modules or something..so i could not take a deks ..but I got modules...couse desk will be museum exponat  ;)

with a little help of some ppl around the world
and info WSW web site http://www.wsw.cz/index1.htm

I realize that I have germanium microphone preamp so I decided to keep it and do cleaning, restauration ....

I have module 811-481... and I found this schematics of 811-483 mic preamp
WSW_SCHEMA_MIC_AMP.JPG

so after a a night checking all...I realise this is earliest version of discrete WSW preamp based on AC 151r germanium transistors and OA85 germanium Diodes
im no expert in this field

so after a lot restauration I did I decided to recap module with panasonic FM Caps and replace resistors with new one
(I heard some older from early 60s are noisy) anyway no big job cca 20 resistors to replace..cant do any harm!!!

here is picture of module before I started cleaning and restauration

Attachments

• WSW-G-PREAMP1.jpg
    WSW-G-PREAMP1.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 717
OK recaping and changing restistors in progress here

ANY info on this module or sugestion is welcome!!!!!!!

Attachments

• IMG_0135.JPG
    IMG_0135.JPG
    187.1 KB · Views: 656
Built-in Limiter.

Ts7 gets rectified output, biases Gr1-Gr4 diodes on, shunts input signal.

Attack time near 30mS, release about 1 second.

May be a very flat limit curve, like 20dB:2dB.

May be no good for rock studio work, except to "squash" sound.