Scott Hampton TapeOp 2002 tube preamp build

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delwood

Hi all,

My first post here, although I've been "read-only" as a non-member for a while. Thanks Ethan for approving and for running this site.

I'm a hobbyist musician and I've built many kits over the years (a few valve amps, some pedals etc). I have an academic background in electronics, but that was 30 years ago so I consider myself at beginner level. I've forgotten lots, but my soldering is still pretty decent.

Having been inspired by some of the threads here and the things you guys build I thought I'd have a go at trying something from schematic rather than kit, doing the layouts myself. As I tend to be doing a little more recording lately I thought I'd go for a preamp and I bought an old back issue of TapeOp that has the Hampton design schematic in it.

There are 3 parts to this project - the main preamp board and 2 power supplies - 1 for the heaters/phantom and other of course for the HT.

I thought I'd tackle the (50v) heater/phantom supply first as it's the more complex part of the project (for me anyway - first time doing a layout from a schematic). It's designed around a source follower first stage into an LM317.

Here's my layout. My original plan was to post this layout here and ask if anyone would be kind enough to kit the tires of it with me, but it took a while for my membership to get approved so in the end I built this layout (I bought two of everything in case I blow something up ;) ). I'm not sure if for copyright reasons I'm allowed to post the schematic?

psu1.png