Sennheiser M8 Broadcast Mixer

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xayo

Hello everyone,
first post here so I thought I'd introduce myself: I'm Robin from Hamburg and I've been producing electronic music for 10 years+.
During my time doing this I realized that analogue is the way to go. Now I'm well in my 20's and finally have the means of making this a reality for me.

Against better judgement I recently bought an old broadcast mixer that's older than myself. It's the Sennheiser M8, 8 channels said to be built to the same specs as the Studer and Siemens Mixers (Braunbuch specs). I knew from the start that it needs some work, so I've been stocking up on the electronics side (soldering iron etc.) and reading a lot of stuff. I don't have much hands on experience, but I come from a family of electric nutjobs (my grandpa used to work at philips in the 60's, father is in the tv broadcast industry) so I have been around soldering irons and correlation meters quite a lot growing up. I am willing to listen and learn from you old heads, so please give me the benefit of doubt on this one :p.

The mixer is in relatively good shape, everything is built like a tank. I opened up one of the channels and it's all looking quite clean. I could not spot any leaky or blown caps for now (I referenced images from the internet but I might be wrong of course). The previous owner sold it as "serviced", but that could mean anything really. Sadly there is a slight communication barrier as he is a french gentleman in his 70s or 80s, so he gave me the schematics and I will take it from there. 

So now onto the problems: