Should phantom power be supplied by a linear supply?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi ! My experience is that devices with SMPS have a much more unpleasant sound! For example, the jitter of the clock signal deteriorates measurably, interference occurs during the z A-D conversion, etc. I never use an SMPS power supply in studio technology! My instruments: Neutrik A2-D, Tektronix TDS224 oscilloscope, but if I'm looking for noise I use the "good old" Tektronix 465 - five. (analog) By the way, the Neutrik A2-D also has an analog power supply!!! But my DUNE HD media player, which I use for listening to music at home, also sounds better with an analog power supply than with the supplied SMPS! I am an electrical engineer and was a sound engineer when I was younger.
Well, those SSL consoles are full of SMPS and people just worship them.... I am not denying (nor affirming) what you say, but people don't care or don't know...

I certainly don't doubt that different converters may sound different. But all the attempts at making me believe that clock X resulted in better sound that clock Y have failed to convince me, as long as the system was properly locked.
I once reached the conclusion that between good converters you can definitely hear a difference when comparing them A/B, but when used in isolation, it doesn't matter, I know I will get some heat for saying this from people claiming otherwise, among with arguments including a lot of adjectives such as "openness", "forward", "bold", "sterile", "warm" and my personal favorite: "musical".

this is where I'm at for the +/- 15v supply: