Siemens, TAB or Telefunken V74 modifications

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fok

I am new to the diy community. I am trying to modify a working pair of vintage tube V74 summing amps (wired for +15dB output). As most of you know vintage German equipments have frequency response 40Hz to 15KHz (typically -3dB beyond both end points) for broadcasting. Please refer to the partial V74 schematic below, I appreciate any members experience and advice on the following questions.

1. I like to extend the high frequency roll off to beyond 15khz, do I simply reduce the capacitance on the variable capacitor C14 on the first tube (6AK5W tube) stage?
2. What components do I need to change to extend below 40Hz?
3. What is the best level to set on the variable resistor (500Kohms) VR33 to get the best sound?
5FF1D7D7-AD05-4621-850E-5C54A15E0318.png

Translated from german TAB74 manual

1. The trimmer Pos.14 is used to adjust frequencies above 10kHz.
("Der Trimmer Pos.14 dient zum Abgleich von Frequenzen über 10kHz.")

minimize or reduce Pos.14 if necessary

2. A capacitor (Pos.3) placed in the center of the secondary windings of the input transformer, causes, together with the inductance of the winding, a desirable drop below 40Hz.
("Ein in der Mitte der Sekundärwicklungen des Eingangsübertrager angebrachter Kondensator (Pos.3) bewirkt zusammen mit der Induktivität der Wicklung einen erwünschten Abfall unter 40Hz.")

Increase (jumper?) capacitor Pos.3

3. The adjustment to distortion factor minimum is done with the potentiometer Pos.33 located in the screen grid circuit of the first tube.
("Der Abgleich auf Klirrfaktorminimum erfolgt mit dem im Schirmgitterkreis der ersten Röhre liegenden Potentiometer Pos.33.")

Technical optimization after tube change. "Best sound" is a subjective matter, adjust Pos.33 according to your own taste.

Last edited: