Soundcraft console modifications / custom build.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danielchodges

Hello All!

I am new to the forum, so I am hoping that this is the right spot for this post.

Several years back I was given a Soundcraft 500 by a good friend. I had a small production studio at the time, and used the console to mix through as well as route things to outboard FX and cue mixes etc. When I got the console I replaced the master mix's summing amp with a CAPI 2 channel ACA and Booster, re-capped the master section and most of the input channels. I never got around to re-capping the power supply. I am now building a new studio and have decided to re-work the console entirely. I've done a fair amount of circuit board soldering, recapping and basics of that nature, but I am new to the electronics and the details of their design. I have a great relationship with a tech here in town, however he is booked up months out so I am trying to do as much research as possible and lean on him only when I need to.

The console has 32 input channels (16 mono, 8 stereo), 6 'auxiliary' and 8 'group' busses. It is a 32 input frame, so there is some empty space under the hood. The plan is to use the mono input channels as the "record" and "remix" inputs, the stereo channels as the "monitor section" as if it were a split console. I'll feed my input converters and tape machine primarily from the group buses when recording, and using them as sub groups when mixing.

My plan for the rebuild:

Replace the current soundcraft 'medium console power supply' with a Yamaha PW4000 power supply, re-capped and regulated for 17v +/- rather than the stock 19v +/- rails. I have spoken with a tech about handling the modification and re-capping of the power supply, as it is a bit outside my comfort zone.