Stabistor circuit

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tom42107

New guy here, trying to figure something out. I came across a schematic in a book I bought at the flea market the other day and I would like to play around with it. Very basic circuit, transistors, resistors, diodes and a couple of caps. Takes a + and - 6 volts. Since it's from the 60's, some of the part numbers are not coming up well with a google search. Here they are:

SG22 diode
2N541 transistor
2N478 transistor

I believe these were made by the Transitron company. I did find a .pdf of the data for these parts, but I don't think it's as easy as matching them up with modern day parts and dropping them in, but again, I'm really new to this. Quoting from the book, "Stabistor DC coupling eliminates the need for large bypass capacitors or excessive bleeder current. Stabistor coupling also fixes the collector-to-emitter voltages at a low value, about 1 volt. It goes on to say that the stabistor diodes prevents damage to the base-to-emitter junction by any excessive negative signal.
Here is the .pdf info that I found:

PWR. BV    BV    Hfe        Ic Vce  Vce  Ib  Ic  Fr  Icbo Vcb    Icbo  Vcb
                Diss.  cbo  ceo  min-max            (sat)  MA MA mc    uA  volts  uA
                mW  volts volts                        volts                  25C          150C

2N478  NPN  200  15    15    40  100  1  5    1.5  2.2  5  8    0.5  50    15    15    TO-5
2N541  NPN  200  15    15    80  200  1  6    1.5  2.2  5  10  0.5    50    15    __    TO-5

SG22:

Max Forward Voltage  Forward    Reverse  Reverse    Power
          Volts            Current    Current    Voltage    Dissipation
                                MA        uA 25C      Volts        mW
.47 min./.53 max.        .25              .1          2            250
.52 min./.60 max.          1
.64 min./.72 max        .10