Stancor A-4408

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

craigmorris74

GDIY Supporter
I recently scored a great deal on a NOS Stancor A-4408. I'm looking for the best place to put this beast.

One option would be to use it to replace the input transformer on my KT-2A opto. Not sure this would be a huge upgrade, since it sounds fantastic with the stock Midas transformer and an RCA tube in the V1 position.

Option two would be to use it on the input of a nice old American style tube preamp. If I took this route I'd like to build one that is a known great sounding design, but isn't crazy difficult to get right. I've built a few P2P tube guitar amps before that have turned out very well, so I have some experience with tube builds.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Craig

Let us know how it sounds. I have one too laying around. Looking at the catalog, these were about 1/3 the price of the High Fidelity series which were UTC A- and LS- series clones. I imagine the A-4408 doesn't spec as well as a WF-22 or HF-22 but could certainly have some desirable non-linearities for today's use. I was thinking about making a passive DI box with mine.

Well this got me curious so I put it on the scope with a 600ohm signal at about 1v and following the instruction for a 500ohm primary. I still haven’t listened to it, so there’s that. But what I can see is pretty massive roll off outside the 100hz-6khz band. Definitely not hi-fi like the WF/HF series but probably in line with recording playback from the 40s. The square wave shows quite a bit of low frequency loss in the « good » range, which is not surprising. I would not put it in the n an LA-2A but it’s gotta be good for something!