Transformer Mojo box frequency response

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattenylander

Hi
I’m fairly new to electronics but I’ve gotten interested in some passive transformer coloration that I could add to my vocals chain.

My goal is to be able to make a transformer box that I can patch in between say my preamp and to my Apogee Duet interface so I can print the effect so to say.

I’ve tested the transformer in post, by patching Duet out -> transformer -> Duet In.

I’ve also patch it Duet out -> Sub Zero RS100 preamp -> transformer -> Duet In

And also different if I go Duet Out -> RS100 preamp -> warm audio Bus Comp -> transformer-> Duet In

But when I measure the frequency response via the transformer the level and the frequency response vary. I mainly see a bass roll off so my question is,
what’s causing this bass roll off?

And are there any circuitry I can make to make make up for it? And to make it more suitable to be patched in between my gear?

Here is the response
1678778249346.png

And here’s the little transformer 1678778286519.jpeg

There are others on here that are far more experienced with transformers than me, but here's my take. That's a reasonably appropriate curve for vocals but wouldn't want it over a whole mix. Could just be that transformer, but low end response can be affected by driving impedance. Because of inductance the impedance of the transformer is less at lower frequencies, forming a divider with the output impedance of whatever is driving it.

If your preamp has an output impedance of 50 ohms (fairly typical) then by the time the impedance of the transformer reaches 50 ohms you're halving the signal or 6db down.