Transistor equivalency, 2SK170, BC547C, etc

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bakula

I see this has been discussed sort of with lots of disagreement and side bars...but no direct answer.

I’m building several mics based on a circuit that uses 2SK170BL, BC547C, and BC557C, which are obviously obsolete.

I’d like equivalents to all of these that I can add to a Mouser project parts list that I can just order when I need to build another one instead of wait a month for an ebay seller from China to ship.

I’ve looked at all the values and compared equivalent transistors, but obviously not all values exactly match up. I know a decent bit of what I’m doing but I’m by no means an electrical engineer and not sure which values are most important to match and such or which will produced negative results if unmatched.

Can anybody recommend equivalent transistors to the 3 I mentioned above that are in current production and will work as a replacement in a mic circuit? It’s essentially a Schoeps with some modifications.

I know I can get them on ebay or expensive legit remakes from boutique places, but I just want a similar transistor that will adequately do the same job and produce good results in a mic circuit, and that I can order from Mouser. And I just don’t know enough of the technicals to be sure.

Thanks!

Are you willing/able to work with surface mount parts? For the JFET at least, that’ll be the only option for close to original noise performance at Mouser.

BC547 and BC557 can still be found from legitimate sources in the US and Europe