Using multiple rectifying bridges from same transformer secondary

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnheath

Hi all...

I have some ideas to build a 8 channel mixer. Each channel strip is built with two 12XX7 tube preamp with an EQ with another 12XX7 tube... each channel has a current draw of 11mA so no major worries there.

However thinking about the construction of PSU some concerns are arising. First of all I'd prefer DC for the heaters and I have a a total of 3,6VDC from 24 12XX7 tubes.

Also I'd prefer to use as few transformers as possible for the heater supply.

Using a secondary of 12VAC rectified would make the filtering tricky to create so I was thinking if the "problem" could be solved by using multiple rectifying bridges tapped from a secondary of 12VAC?

Maybe a complete novice question? But what are the facts behind such a solution?

// John

Attachments

• PSU Test.png
    PSU Test.png
    7.5 KB · Views: 47
Thank you sir

Yes that is one of my questions what really happens? I was wondering if the VAC would remain more or less constant and therefore the voltages after the bridges would be "high" enough to filter with resistors... I guess I could use chokes but that would kind of become a new or at least a similar problem by having a lot of iron all over the place,

Best regards

// John

johnheath said:
Hi all...

I have some ideas to build a 8 channel mixer. Each channel strip is built with two 12XX7 tube preamp with an EQ with another 12XX7 tube... each channel has a current draw of 11mA so no major worries there.

However thinking about the construction of PSU some concerns are arising. First of all I'd prefer DC for the heaters and I have a a total of 3,6VDC from 24 12XX7 tubes.

Also I'd prefer to use as few transformers as possible for the heater supply.