Vintage microphones attenuating low frequencies through Drop Snake

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

fixproaudio

Active member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
26
Location
Long Beach, CA
Hello,

Ive never had this issue before, but its come up in a studio I've been working with.

They have a 100+ ft drop snake that is running into a patch bay and into rack mic pres (all expensive modern stuff).

When we run a SM58 through the snake, which is what I was using for testing, everything sounded great.

Now when we run assorted vintage dynamics (all using Din converter cables) through the snake, the microphones sound really thin. I bypassed the snake and ran the mics directly into the patch bay using an XLR to Balanced 1/4 adapter and the mics sounded much better. I assumed that it was possibly a low output issue so I put the mics through a cloud lifter and the signal did get louder, but the attenuation of the lower frequencies remained.

Any ideas here? Usually I don't consider the length to be an issue, but I don't have a huge amount of experience with vintage dynamics so I very well could be missing something.

thanks in advance - Jon
 

Khron

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
2,639
Location
Finland
I hope you're aware, "all expensive modern stuff" and "assorted vintage dynamics" kinda don't necessarily mean anything, since as we all(?) know, not all preamps and/or mics are necessarily the same.

Got any particular models you could mention, at least?
 

fixproaudio

Active member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
26
Location
Long Beach, CA
Hi Khron,

Sorry for the delay response I never pushed send while previously writing this.

Example of a chain that is having the issues

(1)Grundig GDSM 200 ->(2) Din connector ->(3) XLR -> (4)Drop Snake ->(5) Samson Patchbay (Breaking its normalized patch to a console)-> (6)Chandler TG2-500 Mic pre -> (7) Samson Patchbay ->(8) Apollo 16

But the signal gets much better if I take (3) XLR add an XLR to balanced adapter and plug it right into the Chandlers Patch bay Input, while keeping the rest of the flow exactly the same as before.
 

kingkorg

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
1,860
Location
Norway
That Chandler has maximum of just 1200 ohm input impedance, i bet you will fix the problem by just plugging the mics directly to the Apolo pres. Vintage doesn't necessarily equal good. SM58 has a transformer.
 
Last edited:

thomasdf

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
700
Location
Paris, France
few things you can look into : maybe your mic output is unbalanced (I have a similar mic, it is !) , maybe your drop snake has some capacitance.
Is the problem the same on all of the lines of the drop snake ? is the drop snake fully deployed ? I suppose you know that tuschel / DIN wiring is not 1 ground 2 hot 3 cold like XLR ?
 

fixproaudio

Active member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
26
Location
Long Beach, CA
That Chandler has maximum of just 1200 ohm input impedance, i bet you will fix the problem by just plugging the mics directly to the Apolo pres. Vintage doesn't necessarily equal good. SM58 has a transformer.
HI Kingkorg - unsure of what it is your findings are here - Grundig Impedance are 200 ohm. You would be right in saying the response would change if I go directly into the Apollo, but that is not what im trying to unravel here. Im trying to work out the response change due to jumping the snake. Thanks.
 

kingkorg

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
1,860
Location
Norway
HI Kingkorg - unsure of what it is your findings are here - Grundig Impedance are 200 ohm. You would be right in saying the response would change if I go directly into the Apollo, but that is not what im trying to unravel here. Im trying to work out the response change due to jumping the snake. Thanks.
I'm not sure what's not to understand to be honest. Basic stuff - impedance, inductance, capacitance. How do you expect to add that much cable without affecting negatively the performance of such mic, and why would you insist to use the Chandler? The CMMR is i bet horrible as well. What input impedance are you using with Chandler?
 
Last edited:

fixproaudio

Active member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
26
Location
Long Beach, CA
Sorry the late reply.

Kingkorg - thanks for the wake up call on that its appreciated. We tried all impedance options and the same issue occurred.

UBXF - Ill check this.
 
Top