Weird Sony JH24 issue (imagine that!)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdurango

While trying to adjust idle tension, the take-up reel is spinning @ full speed (tach @ TP1 PPL board measures around 30hz even though it's spinning much faster than 30 revs/sec).

Oddly, the supply reel behaves just fine, but if I grab it to stop it from spinning, the take-up reel slowly winds down until it starts spinning at a more manageable speed (although tach is still reading well below actual speed). At this point, the idle speed can be adjusted with the trim pot.

I'm a veteran if MCI tape machines. This is a later model Sony with machine tooled IC sockets. Cleaned and wiggled all molexes, reseated cards a million times, checked voltages, etc. Seems like an issue with the tach or some feedback loop between the supply and take up reels. Any ideas? Thanks fellas!

I'm also I'm a veteran of MCI tape machines.....the feedback from the reel tachs should be a reasonably clean varying DC voltage...if you are seeing any AC crap from the tachs, you have a problem....as in worn brushes in the tach.  But, just remembering possible failures.

Hard to believe that the reel is really spinning faster than 30 revs/second (1800 RPM!) but it doesn't really matter.

As Brian advised, check the tach signal again. It should be DC with a little bit of brush noise. Where are you measuring it? Maybe your scope ground was hooked up wrong.  If you're not sure, look at the tach on the good reel as a reference.

Does play tension work right? If so,  the tach is probably ok.

If the tach is ok, the issue might be a bad opamp in the analog torque board.

Hey fellas, thanks for the help!