What happened to vinyl? (quality of newer pressings)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Disco Volante

I've been buying records, LP's, for 30-35+ years. Never had a reject or faulty one. Even the flimsy 90's specimens still sound good. Even the very partied ones. Some of the 50's and 60's classical recordings are almost unlistenable but only due to the hard compression used.
Then lately, as of maybe the last couple of years, some, like one in 10, brand-new, "audiophile 180 gram virgin vinyl blah blah" sounds like they have tracking faults, hissing, intermittent distortion, pops, crackles. Got a few replaced to no good: all the copies have *the same* faults in *the same* places??
This happens not only on reissues but also on new music. From e.g. ECM and Blue Note.
If that's "audiophile" I prefer the cheap 90's goods, maybe with a good clamp...

Any of you lathe-heads care to comment?

I have of course tried different gear. Same results using two different MC cartridges (Denon 103R and Ortofon MC30 Supreme), correctly aligned and adjusted, on a SME3009/Thorens TD124.

Cheers, V!

they sold something like $1B last year so somebody is happy...

I recall getting bad vinyl back when I was still buying it, but not for several decades now.

JR

If the pressing is noisy as in pops and clicks it is most likely the pressing. If there are pops that happen the same way in the same place every time it is most likely plating. If it is an audio problem related to the music it is most likely mastering. You have possibly described all three.

There is good work and bad work out there. Sometimes there is bad work from good places and good work from bad places. The difference is the good places will fix it while the bad places will blow smoke up your ass.