What Sort Of Acoustic Room Properties?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vikki

I'm new to the recording game and i was wonderring what sort of acoustic properties are needed in a room to record acoustic guitar and vocals? I have a 12 ft by 9 ft room that i was going to try and convert into some sort of recording room, the recording sysem can be in another room if required. What i have at the moment is an emty room 8 feet ceiling height, 4 brick walls and one studded wall, floor is bare wooden boards with a window at one end and door at the opposite end, quiet country location, most of the time. Do i have to just make the room dead so there's little acoustic sound, which way would you go?
Vikki(uk) :?:

Yep
I've seen that in sound on sound, they hang a sleeping bag on the walls and things like that.
Vikki.
I haven't sorted any problem frequencies yet, i'll have to try some recodings and see what happens. :oops:
V

Vikki,

I suggest posting your questions here;........
http://johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/index.php ............it may take a little while to get your answers but it is a Studio Design specific forum and has some knowledeable guys there in John Sayers,
Knightfly and a couple of others.

Cya around HR's mic forum. :wink:

:cool:

Well, first let me say i'm no expert & that my background is not primarily in acoustic music, tho' the more i progress in the game the more interested in a natural sound i become, you just can't fight the purism sooner or later it gets ya................. anyway!

But basically i've just done 18 tracks with acoustic guitar so i will give u some advice. I will assume that if ur asking this question you might need to know other things about recording accoustic guitar sorry if u dont.... i'll start with the room...