whirlwind accusonic+1 hi-z cable shorting

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VanGenz

I bought a roll of this cable many years ago and have used it for making "guitar cables-jack/jack" of different lenghts. After some use a strange halfway shorting problem sometimes occurs. I have a 1 meter cable now that when testing with a Behringer CT100 (which is very good with the "intermittent" leds that can be reset) shows full short, and when I meassure with an ohm-meter shows 2,5kOhm between tip and ground. This cable still works with active guitars but kills a passive guitar. I am an experienced electronic builder/repairman and have been soldering for more than 50 years. I can not see anything wrong inside the jacks and when I made the cable it meassured ok. I have experienced this with quite a few cables. Anyone that have seen similar problems with this kind of cable?

Last edited:
If you have a whole roll of that cable how does it measure unused?

2.5k is clearly faulty... can you troubleshoot to determine if it is a single fault, or the entire cable. For example cut a bad cable in half and see if the low impedance stays with one end.

JR

Well, 2.5k between what should be two isolated conductors is pretty close to a dead short. Especially considering that passive pickup output impedances range between 5-20k, you end up with quite the attenuation if you load that with 2.5k to ground.

+1

IIRC there were even some guitar plugs designed to shunt from tip to sleeve with a modest resistance when unplugged to prevent hum from an open cable. Of course 2.5k is too low impedance for not loading down a lead guitar pickup when plugged in.

JR

[edit- Whatever you do, DO NOT connect mains voltage (240VAC) across that cable so the 2.5k impedance will generate tens of watts of heat, revealing itself. Absolutely positively DO NOT do that.... /edit]

Last edited: