Collins 6Q-1 Turret Board Layout Suggestions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt C

I'm getting ready to build a couple channels of 6Q-1 preamps and I'm planning on using turret board construction.  This is my first time doing turret board work so I could use some help and suggestions with the layout.  I've attached a layout design that seems to be fine, and if anyone has any critiques or ideas they would be much appreciated.  I didn't draw in lines for tube heaters, B+, or ground yet.  the dotted line is ground bus lacing on the bottom of the board.

I'm planning on building 2 channels (with PSU) into a standard 2RU case.  here are a couple questions and concerns I have with the current layout:

- not sure whether it would be better to stick the PSU to one side like most builds, or put the PSU in the middle and have the channels be mirror images of each other (so both channels' input wiring runs along the outer edge of the case, as far away from the PSU as possible)

- This design lets the tube heater wiring cross signal wires at a couple points. There should be enough room in the case to still keep them away from each other (and they will cross at 90 degree angles).  and I'll be doing the usual wire pair twisting and shielding where appropriate, but I'm wondering whether I should try harder to completely avoid that.

- similarly, I'm not sure if it might cause problems to have the B+ line running close to signal wires.  I figure it should be fine since it's just DC, but thought I'd ask.

6Q-1layoutidea-1.jpg

The 212-A manual shows the turret layout. You have to connect the dots for the underside wiring. 

I wonder how this compares to the BA-2A..

I see some NFB

I see different tubes

I'm assuming different transformers.

It's also transformer to grid