Active Speakers hiss/hum

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ruffrecords

I have never used active monitors before. I just took delivery of a pair of Presonus Eris 8 active speakers. I connected them up to my DAW and ran some tracks through for  couple of hours. I really like the clarity of sound. However, in a break I thought I could hear a hum. I put my ear close to the speaker and sure enough there was some 100Hz hum. I thought it might be a hum loop so just to make sure I unplugged the cables from the speaker inputs. results, the hum is still there.  It is just audible from the listening postition. Not only that but it is the same on both speakers. I then put my ear close to the dome tweeter and I can clearly hear hiss. I already emailed Presonus to ask if this is normal or if the units are faulty. In the meantime I thought I would ask the assembled wisdom here if this is the norm for powered monitors?

Cheers

Ian

Hi Ian.
I have used several sets of Quested active speakers and never a hint of hum or hiss from them.
However, they are an order of magnitude more pricey I imagine than Presonus.

Powered up but not connected they certainly should not hum

The Gimmer

A friend decided never to buy Presonus equipment again. He had one of their interfaces and the DESIGN errors in the build were astounding.
I have Yamaha HS8 active monitors and they are quiet.

There is a problem in KRK active speakers which causes low level hum. They use cheap crimp connectors on the wiring to the amp boards. The crimps don't work properly on the a.c. input wires, and a small amount of resistance builds up. This can be cured by soldering the crimps. In this mode, transformer feeding a bridge rectifier and large caps, the ripple current is very high, and crimps just don't work.
Not saying its your problem, but it could be.