Drumheads and selection..

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pucho812

Been going over this with others at the studio. We have a 1964 cameo drum kit as the house kit. It’s made with maple shells in a natural finish.
Drum sizes are 22” kick, 14” snare, and rims of 12”, 13” and 16”.

Well it’s time to do new heads and as a drummer I know what I would prefer we have on there just to make it sound pretty. But others are so adamant, that I can’t get a real word in nor will they even try anything else other then remo ambassador coated  heads on everything.
It’s always the same lines  like a broken record the toms ring and have a bend in the note. The front head on the kick causes a loss in low end.

If you ask me,  the kick sounds gross,  and the toms ring to much.
Any suggestions?  In my personal kit I have Aquarian’s and it’s a more controlled sound.
Would love to hear some suggestions in head selection as I am open to possibilities.

pucho812 said:
Been going over this with others at the studio. We have a 1964 cameo drum kit as the house kit. It’s made with maple shells in a natural finish.

Well it’s time to do new heads and as a drummer I know what I would prefer we have on there just to make it sound pretty. But others are so adamant, that I can’t get a real word in nor will they even try anything else other then remo ambassador coated  heads on everything.
It’s always the same lines  like a broken record the toms ring and have a bend in the note. The front head on the kick causes a loss in low end.

Any suggestions?  In my personal kit I have Aquarian’s and it’s a more controlled sound.
Would love to hear some suggestions in head selection as I am open to possibilities.

all this mostly/almost  about bad tuning.... i have 20USD kick drum,
sounds like  10K kick drum ever since i have Johns tuner!

i would suggest this quote from John