Lights out on my Mackie HR824

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Che_Guitarra

Hi all.

The lights have just gone out on one of my Mackie HR824s. No power, no sound.
I gave it five minutes then turned on again - a brief flicker of light and then back to darkness.
I must have had these monitors for 15 - 20 years, so I guess about time for something to go wrong.

Yet to open it up and see what i'm dealing with. I guess the first thing I need do is look at the power caps and fuses. After that, i'm out of ideas!

I'm a hobbyist - no problem building guitar amps and pedals, but my diagnostics and repair game is pretty basic.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Picture update. Back chassis removed for inspection.

Caps pass a quick visual inspection, fuse looks intact. Trafo connections all look rock solid. Not seeing any heat damage on components, didn't smell anything funny at the time of failure either.

9Afyz2h.jpg

I'm all ears for what to try next :)

Thanks Khron.

OK, THX board is what I have...

Based on the a similar fault that follows the HR624 variant (found via a couple of vids on Youtube), the HR824 equivalent component would be C116 or C117. Makes sense that if either of these paths failed, the power would go too.

f4Lh6SF.png

But i'm not 100% confident. This schematic is 10x more complicated than the classic guitar amp schematics i'm usually trying to follow.

Maybe best to leave this one to the pros.

I'm from the same background, and I had a similar reaction after looking through the schematics :) I would check the voltages to ground from either side of those two caps, to get a general read on the power supply voltages. If one of those is horked, that's likely an easier/cheaper fix, unless the power transformer is the culprit. (edit: 35vac on pin 3 of BR1 too)