Newbie here (want to build my first microphone)-do you have any tips?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
As said I am new to the topic microphones. So do you have any suggestions where I can buy good stuff or what I should buy? Could you recommend any good circuits or what do you think of the OPA1642 circuit from DJJules? Do you know any good websites that explain the basic circuits well. So to say it short: What are the things I should keep an eye on when I want to build a good microphone and where can I purchase this hardware? Thanks in advance

First question that comes to mind is - what experience do you have? What have you already built? Even though microphones are pretty simple circuits, they do require some level of practical experience with electronics IMHO.

First question that comes to mind is - what experience do you have? What have you already built? Even though microphones are pretty simple circuits, they do require some level of practical experience with electronics IMHO.
That should not be a problem. It's just that I do not know the specific names for audio stuff, if you know what I mean, like what what they mean with pad and stuff like that. So if there is a website that explains that I would be very happy ;) Have a good day thanks in advance

As you're outside the USA, you might find the shipping costs for DJJules' kits from JLI a bit expensive?
You might like to take a look at my OPIC mic project instead?...Similar simple mics, based on the OPA164* series Op-amps, with construction either onto stripboard, or PCBs from Europe...... See here: OPIC Impedance Converter
Just click on any of the schematic images, for PDFs versions that include circuit descriptions...