Otari MTR 90 mk2 troubles

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davemascera

I've been using this machine for 2 years now, not really any serious problems to speak of besides a rumble in certain channel cards that was easily solved..

At some point, we noticed the lights on the meters dimming and checked it out... the power cable had begun corroding at the contact point, so we cleaned it out, filed the contacts, etc, and the machine performed just fine for a while.

Recently, while recording, we noticed a 'fuzz' on recently recorded tracks, which would resolve itself after a while or after a machine reset sometimes as well. In addition, the lights (a 6.3 vac line straight from the transformer) began dimming and flickering, probably worse than they ever had. We checked the power cable and it seemed pretty clean, and measured no resistance between the wall plug and transformer input.

I started taking measurements on the output of the filter caps and power transistors for each line and didn't notice anything fishy, except for a 30v line with 2.5% ripple and that the -40V rail was operating at 2V less in difference from zero than the positive side when the machine was taped up and at idle (-38V, as opposed to the +40V on the other side, simultaneously), and would dip significantly more than the positive rail when the machine was set to fast-forward and rewind. The dips would coincide with the lights dimming quite perfectly.