Power supply for diy projects safety

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattenylander

Hi!
I’m fairly new to electronics but I have started, for some time ago, building circuits like simple Mic pre amplifiers with transistors on breadboards with a supply V of +12V and such, as a way to learn the art of electronics.

I see in many schematics for say API, Neve preamps etc that they relying on say+18/-18V or + 24V or something around that numbers.

My goal is to be able to make a standalone mic preamp with +48V so my question as a beginner of electronics is.

1. What are some good ways to make a power supply for this types of projects and be able to let it run a stand alone unit?
2. What am I allowed to to as a hobbyist regarding the power supply wiring?
3. How do I wire it safe?

The regulations probably apply more to the mains installation itself , thats not really a concern in this case . Theres a handfull of PSU boards made available by members here specifically destined for audio usage , that might be a good place to start .

The basic safety is important to get right in any case , its simple enough , you have Live , Neutral and Earth , Brown, Blue and green /yellow respectively .
The live wire will go to a fuse first then the on/off switch ,then the transformer or smps input , Neutral goes direct , then the ground /earth also called PE is bonded to the chassis near the IEC input socket , see diagram below .
1679394975822.png

The regulations probably apply more to the mains installation itself
Thanks for your reply! Ok so it is allowed for my own use to wire up a device like that?
Neutral goes direct
Do you mean that the neutral goes directly to the smps or transformer?