Redd 47 Type Build Troubleshooting

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dr Tony Balls

Hi all.....first time poster, long time lurker/knowledge sponge. I'm an accomplished builder in the guitar electronics world with over 60 tube amp/preamp circuits built and too many pedals to mention. That is all to say that i'm not a complete dummy/newbie to building but this one is a step outside of my normal comfort zone into the world of recording gear, specifically a mic preamp. I was asked by a friend if I had ever attempted a tube mic preamp and I decided to give it a shot by starting with the EMI REDD 47 circuit. As i'm sure you all know, there are many versions of the schematic floating around and I consulted many, but this was a good one that I used:

53254352867_94e779c6ea_b.jpg

My thought was to try and simplify things a bit both technically and economically, at least for a test build. So for input and output transformers instead of opting for picier versions I tried the Hammond 1140-MN-A (1:10) and the Edcor WSM 15K/600 (5:1), respectively. I added an input pad, and I also simplified the power supply a bit, taking nods from the MILA-1 circuit, with a more simple full-wave rectified design that provides ~290VDC. My filament supply is AC, coming right of the secondary taps on my PT. Here's my resulting schematic with voltages:

53255520199_979d575d8b_b.jpg

For the layout & construction I went with tagboard with almost all componentry mounted to it, including tubes and input transformer. My layout and pics of the build are here:

53255168921_fe6136fbb4_b.jpg

53038940409_d4ea863262_b.jpg

53039141010_cdd67d4b1e_b.jpg

53254409702_504ba5188d_b.jpg