Sennheiser MKH416T repair

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm trying to repair a Sennheiser MKH416T.

I've been tinkering with it on and off for a few years, and it seems to keep getting worse.
Originally, I stopped using it because turning it upside down (or in certain orientations) would create a loud bass thump in the mic. After checking for loose components and not finding any, I came to the conclusion that what sounded like an acoustic problem was actually electrical. I *think* what was happening is that the wire connecting the capsule had gotten loose. In any case, the wire pulled out extremely easily when I disconnected the capsule. I sent it in to a shop, and it came back without any wire connection at all!

That's all back story. Today I tried to revisit that repair. The back of the capsule looks like this:
20231020_133407.jpg
20231020_133424.jpg