Student looking for help understanding how the LA-2A works

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sammorris

Hi all,

This is my first post, so hopefully I'm posting this in the correct area and not breaking any rules...

I'm doing a research on the LA-2A compressor. As a Sound Tech student, I'm used to looking at things mainly from an engineering rather than electronics perspective. I don't have much experience with schematics so I'm a bit stuck on a few details. I've also seen the simplified schematic (attached) but still don't fully understand it.

I know that the LA-2A compressor uses a photo resistor for attenuation (as the bottom leg of a voltage divider) and EL panel to drive this. Would somebody be able to help explain where the signal driving the EL panel (sidechain) is derived from, and how/if this is affected when it's switched between limit/comp?

I know that limit mode shorts R7, but I can't explain what effect this has.

I'm also trying to establish why its a "feedback" topology as they describe it in the manual. It seems that the sidechain is taken either from the middle of the voltage divider? Does that mean any attenuation also affects the signal being send into the sidechain?

From the manuals, I've found one block diagram suggesting it's a feedforward topology (left - from 1176 current reissue manual) and another that suggests it's feedback, but limit mode also sends some of the input to the sidechain (from the 2-LA-2 manual, but notice it says its a diagram of an LA-2A).

I'd really appreciate any insight here, even if it's just pointing me to another source.

Many thanks!

Sam
Screenshot 2024-01-01 at 19.16.40.pngScreenshot 2024-01-01 at 19.18.22.pngLA-2A deconstructed .jpeg

Welcome! I think you're in the right place - no sensible engineering questions are refused.