Studio monitor buzzing and crackling. Bad cap?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This does NOT mean that all the other electrolytics in the unit are or are likely to be in a similar state as these 4.
It seems companies make poor choices, rather too often, and cheap out with things like a particular value capacitor at a particular voltage. Or maybe they get ripped off/misled by the cap manufacturer, or they produce a sub standard batch, or they get damaged during assembly. Who knows.
I totally agree with you that this does not mean the others are necessarily in a similar state. But as you said yourself, they could have failed for any reason, which could include being of an inferior brand. If all caps used are of that same brand, I personally would have replaced them all. But your mileage may vary, of course.

I'm not a repair engineer, but my son is and his company repairs industrial electronics. If there's just one bad cap, they always recap the whole PCBA. Or even when it has reached a certain use time without caps failing, they swap them all. OK, it's different class of electronics and way more expensive, so it's worth the money. But if you decide to repair your own stuff, why not spend a few bucks more and an hour of work if you can prevent future trouble?

From my own experience: I have a Mackie ProFX12 mixer, of which ALL 47uF coupling elcaps of the FX unit were broken and measured below 1uF. It was maybe 6 to 8 years old or so and all those caps were already dried out without being overstressed. I then randomly measured several others and one was close to the lower tolerance limit. I then decided to replace all elcaps in the mixer, simply because I didn't trust the junk brand elcaps Mackie chose to use.

Jan

If all caps used are of that same brand, I personally would have replaced them all. But your mileage may vary, of course.