Traynor TS-50b

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

irfrench

Hello all.

I have decided to go ahead and give this (bass) preamp a go as I believe the need for a bit of grit is approaching soon.  I have looked around for advice/analysis as much as possible but I'm still new to the more in depth side of electronics and was hoping for some help.

I have attached the full schematic below for reference.

I have created a single sided board layout (with only a few jumpers) which I am pretty happy with:

tumblr_inline_my3o6wTz7I1r2bfgn.png

I have a couple/few questions so if anyone can help I'd be really grateful. 

1. I have never been sure of pot wiring, but as I'm using board mounted pots I was hoping that they'd be right (first time?  :-[).  Do these look right?  Sorry to ask...

The original schematic does not show pot pin numbers - so I have done them like so with the intention of clockwise being 'more' (I'm confident about the volume one  ::) so I've only shown the others):

tumblr_inline_my3oeqefLa1r2bfgn.png

2. The boost switch looks to just be a connection to ground (switched via jack socket if pedal is inserted).  Have I totally misread that section!?

tumblr_inline_my3om4OrOg1r2bfgn.png

3.  The next part is the one where I guess I'll have to do some trial and error, but if anyone can steer me in the right direction I'm all ears!  -  Transistor substitutes...

I cannot seem to find a 'normal' source for the original 2n5425, I have assumed a standard 2n5457 would be fine here?

The MPSA18 can still be had but as an option would the 2n5088 be suitable?