Solidstate Preamp Project Issues

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soultek

Hey all, I have slowly been designing a solidstate preamp for over a year now in my spare time (not that much spare time..). I'm finally done, but there are a few nagging issues I have that I was wondering if folks could provide some help with. The basics: it is a dual JFET input class A preamp w/ 32V a bipolar supply. The output stage is a beefy MOSFET stage that has enough standing current to drive less than a couple hundred ohms at full output. The headroom is about 31dBu. I can get about 60dB of gain out of it. I have a working DC servo circuit, but have pretty low DC offset normally (of course it drifts a little). Also I use a Jensen output transformer for the balanced output. This was my first DIY pro audio project (even though I am an electrical engineer by profession) and I made assumptions in the beginning to make the design easier for me. So enough babbling, on to the issues. I will post a schematic at some point probably. (sorry for the long post, but i think i might raise some good topics here i split my issues up to different volumes)