ADC to uC for software driven VU?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adastra

Howdy,
I'm interested in using a 16-bit ADC to drive a level meter (led, lcd, etc) from single-ended preamp output signals.  Obviously there are simpler ways of doing an LED VU (lm3915 etc) but this is an interesting challenge for me and opens things up to remote controls which is useful to me. 

From what I can tell, it would need to go something like this:
Audio Input -> OpAmp Buffer -> Full Wave rectifier -> ADC Chip -> uC

Would something like an ADS1115 be appropriate in this application?
http://www.ti.com/product/ads1115#relEnds
Not married to that chip but it has a nice interrupt function and connects over i2c, which is appealing from a software point of view.

Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated, I'm an enthusiastic tinkerer and decent on the uC side, but I'm no engineer.

Cheers,
AdAstra.

You can perform the rectification and time constants inside the micro. In fact several cheap micros have  multiple A/D convertors built in.

I did the meter in the picture for the master section of a console (still in production APB). I added latches to drive the LEDs but most of the meter was software.

16b micro with 12 b A/Ds (inexpensive microchip).

I also display the peak (dot) separately from VU (bar).

JR

Attachments

• sm_meter.jpg
    sm_meter.jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 80
Thanks John.  Indeed your meter looks awfully familiar:)

So, are you saying to take a single-ended signal straight off the preamp to an ADC?  No external buffer or rectifier needed?

adastra said:
Thanks John.  Indeed your meter looks awfully familiar:)

So, are you saying to take a single-ended signal straight off the preamp to an ADC?  No external buffer or rectifier needed?